Testimonials

a

Project Date: July 2018

We’ve worked with Sue many times over the years. We keep going back to her for her fresh ideas and creative eye. She’s fantastic to work with—very collaborative. She’s upholstered several pieces of furniture and pillows for us—all beautifully done. We highly recommend her!

R+D

Project Date: June 2018

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

When I first met Sue, I knew that I had found a true professional who cared deeply about making my home feel comfortable, engaging and warm. She was very detailed in her approach and was very committed to making sure my home was the way I envisioned it when I hired her. She went above and beyond to ensure that I was comfortable with my purchases, the style and comfort I had with my decor and how it fit my home the way I wanted it to. HIring Sue to assist me in decorating my home was the best decision I could’ve made!

Daniel Salvatore

Project Date: April 2018

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Susan is a very professional and shows close attention to detail. She made and installed draperies in our house and I am delighted with the way they turned out. I wouldn’t hesitate in using her services again.

Carol Lahan

Project Date: February 2018

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

i purchased an off white sofa for my main living area a few years ago because I loved it. I soon realized that love is blind and that I had made a huge mistake given that I have three children and two large dogs with black fur that they seem to shed and regrow daily. I tried to ban everyone from touching the couch, and it still always looked dirty.

I knew I needed a slipcover, but it took me a while to find a skilled artisan to make one that would look tailored and withstand my family’s use. I finally found Susan and she immediately understood what I needed. She sourced the perfect fabric and produced a custom slipcover that looks GREAT! My family is now allowed on the sofa – not the dogs, although they try – and they LOVE it.

In addition to being highly skilled, Susan is extremely professional and a joy to work with. When she says she will be somewhere, she means it. We had an appointment for her to deliver the finished slipcover that happened to be right after a significant snowfall. I assumed we would reschedule, so was surprised to find her at my door, right on time, having trudged up my un-shoveled front walk, with a smile on her face.

I am so happy to have found Susan and I look forward to working with her again. Thanks Susan!

MH

Project Date: December 2017

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Eleven years ago my husband and I moved to Old Saybrook. We decided to redo our living room. We met Sue Germini-Humble as an interior decorator at the Saybrook Barn and worked with her. Sue is very professional and has a wonderful eye for color. We were so pleased with the furniture, drapes and carpeting. Two years ago we renovated one of our bathrooms and again hired Sue with great results. In August we renovated two bathrooms and changed the look and colors of our dining room. Sue completed everything two weeks ago. Sue is always on time, has a neat sense of humor and is fun to work with. She is stress-free. But most importantly, she always gives you straight answers and her price quotes are exact and there are no hidden surprises.

Elizabeth S.

Project Date: December 2017

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

I called to get ideas to reconfigure the draperies in my living room and possibly get thoughts regarding the draperies in my dining room. Sue came, listened to my concerns, and quickly went into action. She climbed on a step stool and temporarily made some adjustments so I could envision the top treatments in a whole new perspective. That gave me the opportunity to study the changes made and decide how I felt about them. I then asked her to share her thoughts regarding the dining room. I was in hopes on the room to look cleaner and more spacious. She looked at what I had and again came up with a design plan, selected fabrics and trimming. The room is now clean and spacious while feeling warm and welcoming. The new living room draperies tie in with the dining room window treatment seamlessly, both in design and in coloring. Sue feels like a friend and I am please we have met. I would recommend her highly!

Josie Esposito

Project Date: September 2017

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Awesome experience with Sue for our new master bathroom window treatments. She totally got our style was easy to work with and we are so pleased with the result.

Andrew L.

Project Date: July 2017

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Sue worked her magic on the well-worn sectional in the salon of our boat by creating a beautiful, durable slipcover to protect it from the antics of grandchildren and small dogs. Sue is a perfectionist, and although the sofa presented some unique challenges, she was able to surmount them all and now our sofa looks like it just came off the showroom floor. We are not only completely satisfied with her work, we enjoyed being in her company and would recommend her work without reservation.

Jan Slomkowski

Project Date: June 2017

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

We had Sue redo 2 cabins and the dining area of our boat over the summer, all areas were redesigned and upholstered with fabric she helped us choose – we couldn’t be happier with the results – fantastic fit and quality — all completely custom ! We had no idea where to start and Sue was able to work with us to come up with a design and vision that we are so proud of ! Thank you so much Sue , we are clients for life !

Dennis M. Carbo Photography

Project Date: October 2016

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

This is the first review that I’ve ever written but I was so thrilled with Susan Germini-Humble’s work, that I wanted everyone to know.

Sue came to me through Louise Kalamian from Kalamian’s Rug Store in New London (who is another treasure that I will save for another review). I needed help with a bedroom – a rather large bedroom with a beautiful bay window. I kept putting ‘stuff’ in it, taking ‘stuff’ out and it was just not coming together. What I liked the most about Sue was that she listened to me – to all my little sidebars and anecdotes – and was able to pull out what I myself had never been able to articulate. That I wanted pretty but not fussy, classic, comfortable, warm and welcoming. She got it all.

And after her listening skills, what I liked very much was her flexibility. Toward the end of our first meeting, she asked what I wanted from her. And I described my ideal deliverable. I wanted a plan that I could follow without necessarily going back to her but knowing that she would be there to fabricate if I needed her. I wanted to know what kind of furniture should be in the room and where should it go. I wanted to know what was on the walls, what was on the floor, what was hanging in or around the windows, how was the bed dressed, what kind of lamps to use, what do I do about a missing closet, And guess what? She gave me exactly what I wanted. She gave me a plan with specifics, with SKU #s or catalog references, Benjamin Moore paint numbers, rug manufacturers and colors. It was great. And she did it all on time and at a very reasonable cost. I will definitely use her again.

Nancy Cole

Project Date: August 2016

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

I found ms. Germini’ performance spectacular. She gave me exactly what I asked for . She is very precise and pays extraordinary attention to detail in every project she undertakes. I would recommend her to anyone who prizes fine work.

Marianne Beatrice

Project Date: August 2016

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

After 20 plus years as an Interior Designer myself I can’t say how delighted I was to meet Sue last year. It was a dark and stormy night (of sorts.) Following 4 years of renovation, almost finished, our Connectcut summer home caught fire. We lost a third of the roof, 3 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, bedding, linens, draperies, slip covers. Smoke and water. A mess.

But we were lucky. The fire departments of five towns showed up and saved us. Antiques survived. Books and paintings survived. No one was hurt. We rescued the dog.

Clean up took weeks, reconstruction, 8 months. Meanwhile we camped out in the undamaged portion of the house shuttling back and forth to our home in South Carolina. With my regular workroom over a thousand miles away and booked out for months, I needed someone local to help put things back together.

I found Sue on Houzz. She was just down the road. Convenient. And the photos looked promising. But photos can be deceiving and I am a stickler for details so I made an appointment, went over for a visit.

It was a good day. Perfect draperies, great slip covers (that actually fit), upholstery as well. She was busy of course. But I had time (all that construction to do) so she agreed to fit my bits in between other jobs. I ordered fabric and hung king sized sheets in the bedroom windows until she could get draperies made up. Living room slipcovers, dining room draperies, Roman shades for the library, draperies and bedskirts for bedrooms, on and on. More than a year in and we are not yet done but the hard parts are finished and house is comfortable once again.

Along the way, Sue has become a friend, someone whose opinion I respect and ask for. (Something I don’t do often.) A bundle of energy, she is a perfectionist who understands both craft and design, and that anything less than excellent execution can cause even the most creative concept to fall flat. A pleasure to work with.

Deborah Warren

Project Date: July 2016

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

After several consultations with upholsterers to discuss reupholstering leather furniture, without a doubt I made the best decision to hire Susan Germini-Humble for the project.   Most professional upholsterers interviewed for the project hesitated working with leather and wondered why a client would want to cover such beautiful leather. My fear was the long term effects of the sunshine my leather set consisting of –couch, love seat, chair, and ottoman. Susan knowledge and professional suggestion to use Velcro as the tool of attachment was genius! Velcro allowed for the preservation and integrity of my furniture (when covers are removed). I absolutely love the end result and the concept. Furthermore, the suggestion to use piping as trim to draw the two shades of color together resulted in a perfect contrast while offering a more professional appearance. Her competence is reflected in her knowledge and workmanship.   Susan exudes high energy personality with a professional style. The combination of these traits produced the highest workmanship quality and project completion within a reasonable time frame. She was always prompt and trustworthy. I was informed of the project status as needed. After incorporating several pillows to match the project, all unused larger scraps were neatly returned .   I give Susan my unwavering endorsement and without hesitations my highest recommendation.

Dr. Violet McNerney

Project Date: July 2016

I reached out to Susan initially for help with selecting interior paint colors for my traditional, colonial-style house. After spending some time talking with her, I decided to ask her opinion about some other house projects I was contemplating. I shared with her that my kitchen was not as functional as I would have liked, and aesthetically I hated how the kitchen appeared too “tucked” in the corner. Given some fixed architectural features in our kitchen/dining area, I was at a loss for budget-friendly layout options. It’s important to note that prior to calling Susan, I had met with some contractors and so-called kitchen designers about my kitchen dilemma. I had already heard lots of suggestions, but nothing proposed seemed right to me. On the spot, Susan quickly zeroed in on what was preventing a cohesive look and offered some helpful ideas that really had my wheels turning. Because her initial suggestions clicked with my overall vision, I hired Susan to help me with my kitchen re-design. She thoughtfully listened to how we use our kitchen and eat-in dining area, and at her next visit came prepared with two design proposals that were within our budget. When my husband and I heard option 2, we immediately knew Susan had nailed it. Armed with that plan, my husband and I confidently moved forward with our kitchen renovation knowing that we would be adding functionality, flow, and visual appeal in a layout that fit our living space and our lifestyle/habits. Throughout the process, Susan was ALWAYS there for me via text or phone call as inevitable questions arose relating to the cabinetry, granite, and layout. Susan has a remarkable ability to communicate her big picture design ideas along with the intricate details in a way that I could visualize.

Susan also helped me select my new interior wall and trim paint colors. She is a whiz at colors and has a knack for picking up on a small detail in the room for her wall color inspiration. She factored into her suggestions the mood of each room or space as well as other important elements, such as the amount of natural light each room gets. For our home, to tie it all together, her vision included using a warmer white trim color. Thanks to Susan’s color expertise, our interior looks so much richer, warmer, and inviting, and the color flow from room to room is perfect without being too matchy-matchy. I am amazed and so pleased with our home ’s transformation with the right wall and trim colors.

In summary, I am so glad I met Susan and decided to hire her! She is a gifted interior designer, but just as important was how involved and invested she remained in my two projects. She kept track of my renovation and paint project schedule and often checked in with me to see how things were going. As mentioned, on numerous occasions, I needed her input or clarification on something we had discussed, and she was always willing and available to answer my questions. Knowing she was there for me really helped me survive this renovation!!

Mary Elizabeth

Project Date: June 2016

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Sue was recommended to me by a friend and came to meet my husband and I prior to discussing the project at hand. She took the time to get to know us and our style before jumping into her suggestions. Her approach is thoughtful, extremely creative and she provides many options. Oddly enough, she now knows me so well that she likely only needs to present one option as I tend to always go with her favorite (which I find out after the fact). Sue is lovely to work with, sees things that I would never in a million years see and has turned our new house into a home. She has worked with us on many different projects which have included, furniture, lighting, flooring, wall hangings, draperies, etc. I recommend Sue very highly to anyone who would require her services, she is fantastic and a complete gem.

Lisa Feeney

Project Date: May 2016

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Sue Germini-Humble Interiors is a wonderful Interior design company.Sue Germini-Humble is very talented and professional.She has great ideas and expresses them with a lot of enthusiasm!!She radiates from within the excitement for the project that she and the client are about to under take-.She totally redid our 7 dining rooms chairs and was right on in suggesting wonderful fabric !!!She completed the chairs when she said she would!Great-She will continue to be our interior designer and has now started to suggest fabric etc.for our 2 wing chairs.She certainly made a very big difference in our project-She makes it become a adventure and she has a lot of experience and terrific ability in her craft.She is wonderful and works well with others

Barbara Fraser

Project Date: August 2015

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Sue’s work is superb.

She is an excellent and careful designer of all of the many details, large and small, that bring a room together.

In addition to the many projects she has worked with us on over the years designing a number of rooms, and advising us on paint palettes for the whole house, most recently she made several slipcovers for a wing chair, a club chair, two couches, cushions for wrought iron furniture, as well as fabric shades for bathroom windows, to help us get ready for an at-home wedding. She met the deadline easily and got everything done beautifully, in perfect time for the wedding. She brings a real joy to her work that makes the whole experience of working with her – the process as well as the end product – so enjoyable. Her vision for design is outstanding. She works very well with the pictures I have in my head, to make those pictures perfect, while suggesting lovely creative touches.

Jennifer Kearney

Project Date: June 2015

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

My husband and I have been working with Sue for several years on the interior design of our home. Her designs have made each room in our home look warm and inviting. Many of our friends and family have commented on how beautiful our home looks. Recently, Sue helped design our Master Bedroom and it looks stunning. The color pallet she chose between the curtains, linens, and wood floor are breath taking. Sue is easy to work with, listens to what you would like and ensures that what she is designing reflects the personality of us. We have enjoyed working with Sue and look forward to our next project with her.

Christine Rutty

Project Date: May 2015

Project Price: more than $100,000

Susan worked with us on integrating a rather large addition on to our existing home. She did a great job understanding our tastes and making the addition fit into our wants and needs rather than what she liked personally. The transition from existing home to addition is imperceptible, though it has its own feel. Exactly the goal. The job as clearly about us, which is not always the case in interior design. She took the bull by the horns with vendors and was a great advocate for us. Susan was also very comfortable working to our budget which was also appreciated. I would highly recommend Susan for any job big or small.

karenmitchell32

Project Date: March 2015

Project Price: less than $1,000

Sue is a true professional and lovely to work with. She helped pick out fabrics and made a slip cover for my couch. She also aided in rearranging my living room to create better flow, extending herself beyond expectations. Sue was thoughtful and considerate of my desires and taste, and with her personalized touch, helped to achieve the look I was striving for within my budget. The knowledge of, and experience in her craft is quite evident and I would highly recommended Sue’s talents.

em5757

Project Date: July 2014

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Susan was wonderful, accomodating and very professional. She’s a perfectionist. In addition to upholstering two couches and two chairs, she also made perfect covers for the irregular mattresses on our boat and just last week delivered a cushion she made in time for Christmas. Love her.

claudiavn

Project Date: May 2014

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

In the five years that I have worked with Sue, she has always exhibited exceptional artistic and creative skills in both the design and craftsmanship areas of interior design. She has an incredible eye for detail and always displays the patience and diligence to assure a satisfied client.

Sue is a delight to work with.

abr44

Project Date: March 2013

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

I have worked with Susan Germini-Humble over the past Twenty + years on three homes in Connecticut. The homes varied in style and age; beach home, antique saltbox and Farmhouse. Susan’s projects ran the gamut in each dwelling and her professionalism and unique talent for detail was exceptional on every level. Susan’s ability to select the perfect paint colors, fabrics textures, slipcovering, layout of furniture was outstanding. One of her many strengths is the knack to intuitively know what the client is looking to change or redesign and within minutes she has a creative plan for the project. Susan not only brings her knowledge and experience but a warm and friendly demeanor. No client’s questions go unanswered and there is always the comfort factor that her talents will exceed your expectations. Deadlines, budgets and her extraordinary ability to work with other professionals are commendable. Susan’s dedication and energy is outstanding. I would highly recommend Susan without reservation for all of your design/decorative needs.

jayjoyce

Project Date: August 2012

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Susan has assisted me with numerous projects in the private and public sector. Her knowledge of interior decorating shows as she ties in colors, textures, fabrics and client needs. She responds quickly and professionally to questions and never hesitates to stop by when needed. It is a joy hearing the wonderful comments about all the spaces she has transformed. Sue is a pleasure to work with and has a passion for her field.

shiggins63

Project Date: August 2012

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Susan has assisted me with numerous projects in the private and public sector. Her knowledge of interior decorating shows as she ties in colors, textures, fabrics and client needs. She responds quickly and professionally to questions and never hesitates to stop by when needed. It is a joy hearing the wonderful comments about all the spaces she has transformed. Sue is a pleasure to work with and has a passion for her field.

cbc857

Project Date: April 2012

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Susan was very professional when she came to work with us on our office space. We were extremely happy with the knowledge she had on colors. She was able to make things work with what we had and couldn’t change, just by adding a pop of color. Our four separate spaces all came out great.

Great personality too.